Home Remedy to Detour Fleas From Your Pets

Here in Tennessee the weather this summer so far has been very hot and humid, with the heat index some days reaching well over 100 degrees. This weather is not pleasant  for humans or animals and it seem this weather has really brought out the mosquitoes, fleas and ticks.

As always I went to my Vet and purchased a name brand flea treatment for my dogs and cat, the fee was well over hundred dollars for a three month supply for my pets. The directions on the package claims that each treatment is to last 30 days. But two weeks after applying it to there back the fleas were coming back. I was afraid to put more treatment on them before the 30 days was up, so I found my self inspecting them daily and picking the fleas off by hand.

Then one evening after the sun went down Wayne and I decided to sit outside and enjoy the night air. But since mosquitoes seem to enjoy biting me I have found that pining dryer tissues on my clothing keeps the flying blood suckers away from me.

While we were sitting in the yard my small dog Cricket which is 1\2 miniature Doberman and 1\2 Rat Terrier was sitting near me. To my dismay she was once again scratching at fleas. That is when the idea hit me, DRYER TISSUES. I quickly grab two dryer tissues, one in each hand and gave her a vigorous rub down head to toe.  Then I wrapped a fresh dryer tissue around her collar and stapled it together.

Later that night when I inspected Cricket I found no fleas. The next morning I still found no fleas. I have now been rubbing dryer tissues on her every other day for two weeks and still no fleas or flea eggs.

I tried the same dryer tissue treatment on my large dog Dot but with her long thick hair it is not as affective, so I may just keep buying her the flea treatment. I have not tried it on my cat since a cat grooms their self daily, but I am thinking about wrapping a dryer sheet around her collar.

So it seems the fleas do not like the smell of the dryer tissues and so they are staying off of Cricket. I do not believe that it is killing the fleas, but at least I can save some money on not having to buy flea treatment for Cricket.

If anyone tries this on their dog I would try a spot test first to make sure your dog does not have a reaction to dryer tissues. I have head that some dogs and cats like to eat dryer tissues so be very careful if you place one to their collars.

Let me know what you think if anyone tries this on their pets I would love to hear how it worked for your pet, so please leave me a comment.

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    My partner and I stumbled over here by a different page and thought I might check things out.

    I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to looking into your web page again.

  2. 2

    Frank said,

    i have the same problem my dog is 1/2 pug and 1/2 boston terrier (a bug), watching tv one morning i decided to tyr something knew. I took a dryer sheet rub her down wrapped it around her collar. Seems to have worked pretty well. Not only does she stop scratching it makes her smell good also.

  3. 3

    Kaitlynn said,

    Thanks for the suggestion! I actually saw this on another website a long time ago and read that it helped with mosquitos so when the fleas started attacking me and my dog i figured why not try it? My dog has stopped scratching and so have I! I couldn’t be happier!

    • 4

      tncountrygal said,

      I have found that this really works well for my pets, until warm weather. But after the fleas really come out it doesnt do as well unless you do it daily. Then it only helps detour the fleas only some what. Thank you for your comment and I hope the dryer tissues have saved you some money, and I hope that where ever your living that it keeps working for you!

  4. 5

    I also totally messed up my web address on my comment. Whoops!
    I’ll let you know how it works for us.

    • 6

      tncountrygal said,

      Hey Gal, Thanks for stopping by and leaving me a comment. Like I wrote in my post, it is working on my small dog great. But my big longhaired outside dog it’s hard to rub it into her skin. I did wrap a few sheets and stapled them together around her collar. Since then, I have noticed no fleas around the upper part of her body, but their are a few fleas around her tail area. I am tempted to staple one to her hair on her tail. LOL! (If she will let me.) Someone else has tried it and they told me they rubbed their dog down with dryer sheets everyday because their dog was infested pretty bad with fleas. They have let me know it was working! Yah! Hope it works for you. I am using Wal-Mart brand dryer sheet. Let me know how it works for you.. Good Luck!

  5. 7

    We’ve noticed a huge difference in the fleas this year, too. Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem limited to fleas, ticks, and mosquitos, but to FLIES as well. The barn is full of the little boogers, and they bite!
    We’ve been giving our dog multiple baths every week because of the fleas. We’ll try your dryer sheet method tonight and see how things go!
    Thanks!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

