Homemade Mosquito Spray

Peggy sent me this, I was at a deck party awhile back, and the bugs were having a ball biting everyone. A man at the party sprayed the lawn and deck floor with Listerine, and the little demons disappeared. The next year I filled a 4-ounce spray bottle and used it around my seat whenever I saw mosquitoes. And voila! That worked as well. It worked at a picnic where we sprayed the area around the food table, the children’s swing area, and the standing water nearby. During the summer, I don’t leave home without it.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    mylene said,

    Did it work? It’s been raining a whole lot lately and I need to cut a large patch of grass under some trees to keep them at bay. I was thinking of burning some mosquito coils or citronella candles before I went out there but if Listerine will kill those pests, I’m all for it. I wonder if it’s the alcohol content of Listerine that kills them. I’ll give it a try. I also read on another site that basil leaves and some other herbs keep them away too.

    • 2

      tncountrygal said,

      It has been raining here so much that we haven’t had any standing water that stays long enough between rains for the mosquito’s to hatch in. So they haven’t been too bad yet. I did try the spray. But until the little bloodsuckers come out in full force, it was hard to tell if it worked. If you try it before I get a chance to can you let me know?
      I have basil planted all over my yard and garden. I plant it in every flowerbed and it is very easy to grow and it does help with deterring insects. Plus I love the smell of fresh basil and I pick it and use it fresh or dry it to use in a lot of my recipes.
      Let me know what you think. Enjoy hearing from you! Trena

  2. 3

    I think I have heard this before. I’ve never tried it. Wonder if it does anything to the grass? My husband would have an attack.

    • 4

      tncountrygal said,

      I’m not sure about the grass. Maybe you can try spraying it on a small part of grass in the direct sun a few times. I wonder if you could use it on your skin to and if it will keep them from biting? I think I will try it!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

