Eatable Infused Oil or Vinegar Jars.

Here is an idea for making a gift for either male or female.

A jar full of veggies, herbs or flowers.

If you know the persons kitchen colors, it’s nice to use like colors in your jar. Here is a few items that look great that you can use to fill your jars. Chili peppers, cherry tomatoes, lavender flowers, carrots, celery stalks with tops, chive flowers, rosemary, chives, onions, shallots, garlic cloves, yellow peppers, dandelions, or lemon zest.

I find most of my bottles at yard sales or dollar stores. I watch for any size decorative clear glass bottles with tight fitting lids. Before using them I always wash them well as soon as I get them home. But to sterilize the bottles right before I plan to fill them, I boil them in a pan of water on the stove for several minutes. Then I allow them to cool for about 1 hour.

While my bottle is cooling I wash and rinse the veggies, or flowers and them let them air dry on a clean towel. To fill the bottles I put fresh herbs, flowers or spices into the bottle first. If I’m trying to fill a small-mouthed bottle, a wooden skewer or wooded spoon handle helps me reach the bottom of the bottle. I arrange the flowers in the bottle evenly.
I use a funnel to add light olive oil or white vinegar to the bottle very slowly. Once its full I put the lid on and it’s done.
 

These oils and vinegars can be used for cooking or on salads and will keep at room temperature for up to a month. If they are just used for a decoration they will last several years before the colors begin to fade. It’s a good idea to write the date it was made on the bottom of the jar.

Here is a small jar of little hot pepper I made for my husband, I bought the jar for a dime and grew the peppers in my garden.
Pepper Jar

Leave a Reply

