Lets Make Homemade Yogurt in a Crockpot

Homemade Yogurt This recipe uses a 2-quart crock-pot.

The time is every important for each step!!!! This is so easy!

Turn your crock-pot to low and pour in 1/2 gallon of milk. (8 cups) (I used non fat powdered milk, you mix 1/3 cup powdered milk with each 1 cup of water to = the 8 cups)

 Heat on low for 2 hours and 30 minutes.

Once 2 hours and 30 minutes have elapsed turn your crock-pot off and unplug it. Let the milk cool in the crock-pot with the lid on for 3 hours. (Do not remove the lid)

After 3 hours remove 1-2 cups of the warmed milk and place in a bowl. To that add 1/2 cup of yogurt with live active cultures and mix very well. (I used a 1/2-cup Dannon plain yogurt)

Pour the yogurt-milk mixture back into the milk and whisk thoroughly.

(I also whisked in about 2 tablespoons or 1 packet of Knox unflavored Gelatin (jell-o) to make it creamier.)

I plan to try using flavored Gelatin (Jell-O) soon and I will let you know how it turns out.)

Place the cover back on the crock and wrap the entire crock-pot in a thick bath towel or two. (I placed the crock-pot wrapped in 2 towels in the oven so the warmth would stay the same.)

Let it culture overnight, 8-12 hours.

In the morning stir yogurt (if desired) and store in glass quart jars or a container of your choice. (I did not stir it I just spooned it into quart jars.)

For optimum texture, refrigerate for at least 8 hours before using.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Deborah A. said,

    Hey girl! I tried this once, but it still turned out runny. someone told me to use powdered milk to thicken it, but I don’t remember how much. I have it stored somewhere.

    • 2

      tncountrygal said,

      Hey Gal! Thats why I make it with powdered milk at the start and I add the knox jello to it. It comes out thick and creamy every time. Then it thickens even more after it stills in the frig about 8 hours. I make about a gallon a week for my brother and I.

  2. 3

    [...] Lets Make Homemade Yogurt in a Crockpot « Tncountrygal's Blog [...]

    • 4

      tncountrygal said,

      Hello, If I’m going to make my beans in the crock-pot, I do not soak them first. The whole point for me to use a crock-pot is to put the beans on in the morning and have them finished when I get home. Chat Later, Trena


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,035 other followers

